Women Online Worldwide

Women Online Worldwide (http://www.wowwomen.com/boards/index.php)
-   Pets (http://www.wowwomen.com/boards/forumdisplay.php?f=42)
-   -   Fish owners (http://www.wowwomen.com/boards/showthread.php?t=683)

MintyFemme2 March 8th, 2004 10:14 AM

Fish owners

I'm new to this fish thing . Sallvie got a gold fish for his birthday in Oct. We got a 10 gal tank for the fish cause the bowl just wasn't cutting it. Of course when we got the tank we got "Nemo" some friends Now we are up to 5 gold fish and a 20 gal aquarium. We've had the 20 gal tank now for 3 weeks. We've tried everything we can think of but the water is still cloudy. Since we got the tank we have done partial water changes, and last week gor some stuff that was supossed to clear the water. It is sorta working but not that great. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Cod March 8th, 2004 12:52 PM

Minty I am not sure how to correct the cloudiness. I know goldfish require a lot of water changing. They are little poop machines. I have a tiny bowl with a single Beta named.....DORY! Yes she is blue. I use bottled water but as I said it's a tiny bowl. I'd bring her over to meet Nemo, but she'd eat him. ;)

Cinderellen March 8th, 2004 01:01 PM

LOL we had betas for a while, they're vicious little fish. Have you tried putting a mirror up to Dory's bowl? Ours used to get so aggressive. You'd really get to see their fins all blown up and I think they're colors got darker.

Minty, do you have one of those algae eater fish? I have no idea if that helps cloudiness or not, but it seems like little fish vaccuums are good things to have, lol. Good luck!

Cod March 8th, 2004 01:09 PM

Okay that makes me picture a goldfish pushing around a tiny Oreck! ;)

So, when I approach Dory's bowl she's NOT just happy to see me?????

Cinderellen March 8th, 2004 01:31 PM

Of course she is. She's thinking, "Hey! Lunch!" ;)

And "she" is probably a "he". ;)

Cod March 8th, 2004 02:34 PM